" I was having back and shoulder problems from sitting at a desk all day, and had been having regular physio, but I needed a longer term solution. "  
A B   —  SEE FULL REVIEW
Download Steve Jordan Pilates article in PDF file format  [ 700KB ]
Home Bookings About Reviews Press Coverage Contact Us

External Reviews


It just gets better and better!
The sins of my youth have been cured
The pain in my neck has diminished
SJP has changed my posture, upper body strength, physique and mental well being
I was 8mm taller!
Some of it feels quite meditative, like yoga
Pilates is not boring – it's really challenging
I can't recommend SJP more highly – it really works.
Steve Jordan Pilates is hard core
My running has improved and I'm getting quicker
Steve Jordan Pilates has changed my life
An hour's class at SJP is bliss
Very positive impact on my well-being
Instructors are willing to adjust the focus on individual weaknesses and injuries
I feel leaner; more toned
You really get worked to your limits!
Highly recommended!
I won't be going anywhere else
I feel muscles in parts of my body that I had never felt before!
Excellent Pilates and posture rehab in London SE1
Excellent pilates class
Fantastic Pilates in London!
Excellent for all round toning and fitness
Changed my life
Brilliant Pilates in London
Very Good
Life Changing
Pilates classes in South London
SJP
Pilates!
SJP identify the things which need addressing
Best Pilates
Pilates fans: try this class!
First Class Palates – trust me!
Absolutely superb pilates in SE1
great personalised instruction
Best pilates classes in london
Best pilates classes in london
Runners pilates classes SE1
I received the individual attention that I required
Spectacular!
Inspiring, to say the least
Get rid of muscoskeletal pain
Great results fast
Fantastic Pilates Classes
Fantastic
Classes are fun but challenging – I'm addicted!

It just gets better and better!

This is my 3rd year of Pilates at this small and friendly run studio. On reaching 50 everything just seem to grind to a halt: hips, shoulders, ankles, knees. After creating my own MOT via St Thomas' hospital and nothing getting fixed, a locum GP recommended Pilates. I did my research and picked out Steve Jordan and never looked back. The guy changed my life! Small classes, attention to detail, it's like having a personal trainer. A very dedicated team continue the exceptional style of Pilates that Steve Jordan now delivers in his native South Africa. It just gets better and better. I feel great – no more aches and pains – the care and attention to detail is second to none. If you are serious about your well being and fitness – this is the place!
JGage — wahanda.com
BACK TO INDEX  »

The sins of my youth have been cured

I have been suffering from backache for a good few years now because of the sins in my youth and have also not been playing sports as actively as I used to. Since my sessions at SJP I have not only been re-energised (started running and playing football again) but my back pain and stiff lower back has also been cured (after two months!!!) – I am now not only much more supple but also feel the positive effects of my improved posture all day long, from sitting at work to walking down the street and even just lying in bed! My friends and colleagues have also noticed the difference (no, I do not gym and yes, I'm taller now:) – thanks SJP!
donnigohome — wahanda.com
BACK TO INDEX  »

The pain in my neck has diminished

I recommend anyone even if you can only manage one class per week to do attend Steve Jordan Pilates classes. My posture is better and the problems I had with my neck pain have diminished. I have gained more body control, on occasion I still slump in front of the PC but at least I am aware of it and correct my posture when I realise! I had tried Pilates in large classes and found that these large classes do not work as the instructor simply is not aware of all the mistakes one is making and cannot ensure that one is performing the exercises correctly. Ended up with more neck ache than I started with! I wish that I had discoverd Steve Jordan Pilates 20 years ago! The improvements in posture, strengthening of core muscles and the lessons learnt about which muscle groups to engage for most effective workouts helps enormously with other sports and everyday life.
CarlTC — qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

SJP has changed my posture, upper body strength, physique and mental well being

As an office based 30 year old male, I have been using Steve Jordan Pilates for two years now and they have changed my posture, upper body strength, physique and mental well being. The tutors are all sparky and charming and the small class size affords very personal tuition. Since starting pilates I have relinquished regular gym workouts – no need. I simply run and swim perhaps once a week and Steve Jordan Pilates does the rest. The customers lend a community feel to the set up and all are welcoming. Recommended.
shenlonefox — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

I was 8mm taller!

Over the years, my father meticously recorded our heights with pencil lines on the side of a tall cabinet in the kitchen. I had been doing Pilates for about a year when I noticed my younger brother's growth spurt was recorded and showed that in the last couple of years he had hit 6' 2" and had outstripped me, his 'big' brother, by a couple of inches. In retaliation, I said, "In theory, I should be taller because of the Pilates classes." Nobody believed it would be possible but I took my shoes off and stood up against the cabinet ... I was 8mm taller! The sales patter for Pilates is that it makes you longer and leaner. Aye, it does. I've continued since then with the Pilates – 10 years now – don't worry, you don't continue to grow at 8mm a year!
simonjm — wahanda.com
BACK TO INDEX  »

Some of it feels quite meditative, like yoga

I've been training for the London Marathon and when I went to a specialist running shop to buy some new shoes they looked at how I ran and recommended I "strengthen my core", sadly lacking after two children and eating too much cake, and try Pilates. I signed up with Steve Jordan Pilates, just round the corner from me near Tower Bridge Road in SE1, and had two one-on-one sessions with an excellent, thoroughly professional teacher Tracey Boles, a former triathalon athlete who is super fit/toned (there are two other very good teachers). I've now joined small, group sessions and am really beginning to notice the difference. You do this thing called Roll Downs where you have to stand against a wall and slowly curve your spine up and down, feeling every single vertebrae. Some of it feels quite meditative, like yoga. With my running and Pilates I feel like my body is getting a complete workout.
LizBirdjourno — wahanda.com
BACK TO INDEX  »

Pilates is not boring – it's really challenging

Have you ever tried Pilates in your crowded gym? Have you found it boring, easy and just a waste of time? Well, you have never tried what the real Pilates is!!! Pilates is not boring, is really challenging, it's a really demanding activity, even really tough and if you practice is properly you can feel and see the difference by yourself! Pilates seems to have became pretty popular and the problem is that many people thing they are doing PIlates while they ignore what Pilates is. Pilates is not a trend, is a dofferent way to work out ad use and get to know your body and your muscles. I have been doing a very good Pilates and when moved to London missed a good class. Until I haven't met John and SJP studio! When I have walked in I immediately recognized the good signs and the evidences of a serious studio: these guys knew what Pilates is and they were what I was looking for! My first impressions have been confirmed as soon as I did my my first class: instructors are so kind, attentive and precise that there's really no way to cheat - you have to work and they keep you constantly challenged! No jokes, they know what Pilates is, they are passionate about it, the have experienced it and they know how important a good training is. So, if you find your gym Pilates-like classes are boring, give real-Pilates a try. One class is enough to try and see the difference. Needless to say, try a true Pilates class at SJP!
Pat-Pilates — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

I can't recommend SJP more highly – it really works.

I found Steve Jordan Pilates after my previous studio closed down and I couldn't believe the difference it made. SJP is much more professional, the classes are small (max 6) and the teachers are top notch, enthusiastic and really care about your well-being and progress. I can only go to one class a week but I really notice the difference in how my back and neck feels if I miss for a week or two. I can't recommend SJP more highly – it really works.
JAMC1 — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Steve Jordan Pilates is hard core

After trying an osteopath, chiropractor, gp, massage nothing was working for my lower back disc problem. Very happy to have found SJP as within a few months am now running again. SJP pilates is hard core and you will feel it the next day but it works!
Ros11 — wahanda.com
BACK TO INDEX  »

My running has improved and I'm getting quicker

I'd never tried pilates before joining Steve Jordan Pilates studio, but, as a runner, I realised that core strength was essential to improving my running and getting quicker. I started in July 2009 and felt the benefits very quickly. I have an old shoulder injury too, which is really being helped by the strengthening and posture exercises in the class. The teachers are so professional, friendly and very keen that you are pushed to do as much as you can. They really care about your progress and take account of any injuries or weaknesses. The small class size really helps to get more individual attention too. I would highly recommend Steve Jordan pilates studio.
LifeofRiley — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Steve Jordan Pilates has changed my life

It is no exaggeration to say Steve Jordan Pilates has changed my life. Previously my back problems were getting worse and worse each year and my visits to physios more regular. This was having a major impact on my working and sporting life. After one session I could tell that this form of exercise was essesntial for me, with the concentration on the core and supporting muscles. I have always exercised a lot, but this was reinvigorating my body. After 3 sessions I was cured of my back problems, though they can return if I stop training. After training with SJP for a year I now know where all my past injuries and problems have emanated from. I now know how to sit, stand, walk and run properly! As my sport is golf it has had a huge beneficial effect. I now know why all top class athletes use this type of training. AC Milan may well keep Beckham playing until he is forty, a large part of this is down to pilates and the kind of training you will go through at SJP. I cannot recommend SJP highly enough. Go there now and make the investment in an improved life!
Noltan — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

An hour's class at SJP is bliss

I love my pilates class – for me, pilates allows me some personal "me" time, as well as all the benefits of a work-out that ensures that my posture and core strength remain strong. As a busy working mother ... an hour's class at SJP is bliss and the sense of achievement after a session, lasts throughout the day.
pauline4 — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Very positive impact on my well-being

I am in my sixth Pilates session at the Bermondsey studio, and I could not be happier. I discovered it just passing by taking my little boy to nursery. I felt very curious about the studio. When I read their leaflet, what caught my attention was their guarantee for results within your first three sessions. After the pregnancy and birth of my son, bad posture had totally taken over my body: rounded shoulders, tremendous tension in my neck ... My body was screaming for help. I was in need of a type of exercise that could give me strength in my core, which was totally gone after the pregnancy. After having a chat with John, the director of the Bermondsey studio, I decided to give it a try and went for the assessment sessions. My surprise was that just after the first assessment session my body gained a lot of awareness. I was able to catch myself in a bad position and correct myself quicker. And as it said in the leaflet, after a few sessions I have noticed a change in the strength of my core and upper body. My neck feels better and my awareness has increased a lot. I have worked with the three teachers at the Bermondsey studio and they are great. They are very professional, knowledgeable and patient. I must say that for me it is a bit of an economic effort, but it is worth it. Steve Jordan pilates is having a very positive impact on my well-being.
soniab — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Instructors are willing to adjust the focus on individual weaknesses and injuries

Having been a regular pilates student for the past three years in Melbourne, I was keen to find a studio in London that could offer me the same high-quality and personalised service I experienced in my boutique city studio at home. I had been warned against gyms offering pilates amongst their myriad other classes and services, and wanted an experienced and professional studio specialising in pilates only. Steve Jordan has offered me just that. The instructors are highly competent and knowledgeable, and more than willing to adjust the focus of the session to individual weaknesses and injuries. The classes are highly organised, run to time, and are very easy to schedule via the studio's online booking system. The staff are friendly, highly professional, and eager to help with any questions or concerns that may arise. I would highly recommend the studio to anyone looking for high-quality pilates instruction in London.
lizk01 — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

I feel leaner; more toned

I started going to Steve Jordan Pilates in Bermondsey after an initial telephone conversation with John – mid January 2010. Its now March and I can truly say that it is a New Years Resolution that I intend to maintain! Previous pilates classes I have attended, have left me feeling confused and dizzy as I was not taught to breathe correctly. The trainers I have experienced to date Tracey and Sabrina are amazing and under their supervision I am breathing correctly, have discovered muscles and movements that I never knew I had or could do! Additionally after just 5 weeks, I feel leaner, more toned, the clicking in my knee has reduced, my back seems stronger and seems to be aligning itself to how it should be and more importantly I am more aware of my core body and my posture. Attending the smaller classes are ideal for me as I benefit from a more personal approach and also the trainers can spot easily when are I am doing a wrong movement, having difficulty or just slacking! Also you can see that they really care about how you are developing and rightly or wrongly encourage good pain after a class! Many have said that pilates in general is costly, but personally my opinion is that you get what you pay for! The only down side for me is that the studio I attend is about an hour or so away from where I live. A part from that SteveJordan Pilates is definitely meeting all the criteria that I need – professional, experienced, flexible, friendly ... I am really happy with them and glad I found them and will highly recommend them to others.
Kamara50 — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

You really get worked to your limits!

This is some of the best AND best value Pilates in London. Steve Jordan developed a strenous and disciplined workout which is now being used at the studios in Bermondsey and Aldgate and has no comparison with the type of classes available in commercial gyms. The brilliant tutors give you tailored feedback and really work you to your limits. They're from different disciplines so they can help you with posture, breathing and work that you can continue at home. If you took 2 of these classes a week for a month you would see visible results in strength and agility. It's fab!
emmagilman — wahanda.com
BACK TO INDEX  »

Highly recommended!

This really is brilliant Pilates – it's definitely nothing like the type of class that your gym will offer. The tutors are experts in their field and give superb feedback on posture, technique and anatomy, helping to explain how to make your body perform better. The classes are small and are almost as good as having one-to-one sessions. Highly recommended.
emmagilman — qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

I won't be going anywhere else

I've been going to sessions at Steve Jordan pilates since September 2008 and now that I've found London's best pilates class, I won't be going anywhere else. I had been to a number of classes within my gym but didn't find them to be effective or very interesting. At Steve Jordan Pilates, you certainly get a workout and with the the small classes (no more than 6) you get the attention necessary to be able to correct any flaws in your technique. Steve Jordan Pilates definitely gets my vote!
smithnikola — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

I feel muscles in parts of my body that I had never felt before!

After suffering with a shoulder injury from a car crash some 8 years ago, I joined SJP at the beginning of 2010 on the recommendation of a physio. I admit that I was very sceptical about pilates in general and could fail to see how a bunch of breathing exercises (yes, I really was that ignorant) could possibly help where other treatment I had received had failed! How wrong I was ... after my first 1 to 1 lesson, I was huffing and puffing and feeling muscles in parts of my body that I had never felt before! I have now completed 8 weeks at SJP, attending 2 sessions a week and the difference it has made is truly incredible. The pain in my shoulder has subsided, my shoulders are noticebly lowering and my posture has improved. Previously, I used to suffer from pins and needles in my left arm from my shoulder injury and this has not happened for 3 months now. The teachers are all fantastic (particular shout out for Tracey who has really encouraged and supported me) and really make an effort to get to know you, your injuries, and then work with you to improve these problem areas. The classes are small (maximum of 6 people) so the teachers are able to watch everyone closely and push everyone to their own max. The exercises are hard work and you really feel like you have pushed yourself by the end of each session. I always notice how much better I walk and stand after each session and I look forward to going each week which is pretty impressive for someone who has not set foot in a gym for many years!! All in all, I completely recommend giving SJP a try for yourself ... particularly those who, like me, had previously scoffed at this form of treatment, it just might be the cure you were looking for, this has certainly been the best treatment for me!!!
jayneybrowney — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk/
BACK TO INDEX  »

Excellent Pilates and posture rehab in London SE1

I went to the Steve Jordan nearby Bermondsey studio in SE1 (about 6 mins walking from London Bridge) starting in Sept 2009 following progress with physio rehab (for shoulder / scapula instability ) and some keyhole surgery that helped to make 'more space' for tendons to move around more freely. The physio and surgery improved my situation a lot – however this was the starting point as I needed to gain more dynamic functional control and comfort to get back to sporty things like running, gymn-ing, swimming, rowing and even to maintain good posture while sitting at a desk using computer all day! From the first 1:1 sessions (to ensure safe approach and understanding of the more strenuous controlled work to follow) through the classes over following months I found everyone at the studio to be amazingly helpful, sympathic and attentive to detail – pushing for improvements and to make corrections all the time. Within 3 weeks I felt significant improvements in posture and when exercising – and ongoing can honestly say, month by month my flexibility, control core strength and posture are improving still. The 3 expert instructors Mel, Sabrina and Tracey that helped me are all 'very cool' (Tracey's catchphrase!) and friendly – they can demonstrate everything brilliantly well. The studio owner, John is also a highly enthusiastic regular participant. For real-life functional balance, stability, improved posture and well-being I can recomend this 10-to-1 better than any communal general Pilates classes found even in decent gym (btw there are typically 3-6 of us working through the exercises together in a Steve Jordan class). Despite the effort attending regularly – getting up for 7am classes (I prefer early mornings to keep the day free) it is all rather relaxing and good for stress-relief, classes start from v. early morning (pre-office) to late evenings. The studio is also nice and bright and open, south-facing looking on to a lovely open garden in the grounds of the former Hartley's Jam Factory. Highly recommended. Try it and stick with it for at least 5 or 6 sessions and I will be truly amazed if you don't feel the difference and get hooked! I usually cringe when I read testimonials like this to be honest, but this is how it happened so thought it was worth sharing as it is!! Give it a try!
Ian Golding — touchlocal.com, au.totaltravel.yahoo.com, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Excellent pilates class

I was looking for a pilates class in London to help me recover from a long-standing injury and I'm very glad I found the Steve Jordan studio! The classes are intensive and are geared to give you a complete and aerobic workout; they put other classes I've done elsewhere to shame. The best thing about it is how personal it is. The teachers are amazing, they are extremely patient, they understand so much about physiology and biomechanics and they genuinely care about their clients. They put incredible focus and attention into analysing problem areas and fine-tuning the exercises to precisely target these. This, coupled with the level of support I've received in terms of scheduling my classes really makes Steve Jordan Pilates stand out. After only a month or so I'm already noticing improvements in posture, body awareness and muscle tone (i.e. I'm starting to get some!); can't recommend them highly enough!
Bee B. — touchlocal.com
BACK TO INDEX  »

Fantastic Pilates in London!

Steve Jordan Pilates in London has helped me lead a normal life again and it has now become a regular activity in my week which I really enjoy and look forward to! The instructors at Steve Jordan Pilates are fantastic and give you individual attention in each class to ensure you are achieving your goals and working the correct muscles properly. I started Pilates with them to help me recover from a back injury and after only 1 month of working with the instructors there I am already seeing improvements. I am extremely thankful that I found Steve Jordan Pilates and can thoroughly recommend it – friendly atmosphere, knowledgeable instructors, easy booking system – what more do you need!
Hannah Preen — touchlocal.com, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Excellent for all round toning and fitness

This is not your usual "ladies in leotards waffling about in the school hall" type of pilates. Steve Jordan Pilates really works! They run small classes with great teachers – you get lots of individual attention and even though the classes are pretty tough it's quite fun and absolutely worth it. I was training twice a week at the gym with a personal trainer for over a year to loose weight / build strength and had started to develop a slightly bulky look. I've replaced the gym entirely with 2 pilates classes a week and I'm feeling fantastic. It's so much more relaxing and enjoyable plus the slightly bulky look is gone and I'm looking longer and leaner. This is perfect for keeping yourself relaxed, helping to shift that extra insulation around your core muscles and fixing up all those aches and pains. It's also helped me enormously with day to day back pains from sitting at a PC all day.
T A — touchlocal.com, au.totaltravel.yahoo.com, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Changed my life

I found Steve Jordan Pilates after 12 months of frustration with various physios. After 3 operations (groin and shoulder), I was at the stage that I could no longer train the way I wanted to. I thought I would never get back to normal. I started off with lower body classes. The effects have been profound with me gaining trust in my groin repair within 4 weeks of regular classes. Sabrina then talked me into upper machine classes. Again the benefits have been amazing, and my shoulder is well on the way to normal! Incredible! I couldn't recommend SJ Pilates more highly. Apart from the SJ discipline, the instructors are also amazing. Mel for the emphasis on control, Tracey for forcing me to grind out a tough slog and finally, Sabrina for the comedy routine during the class. If you play sport and have niggles, get involved.
A GW — touchlocal.com, au.totaltravel.yahoo.com, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Brilliant Pilates in London

Having been referred to a consultant following mild back pain but of greater concern was a numbness in my left foot, he suggested a course of physiotherapy. I am fortunate in that I work almost opposite The City Of London Medical Centre which has extremely well qualified physiotherapists who take a strong interest in general wellbeing in addition to the specific injury or problem. During the course my physio recommended that I should try pilates as he felt it would improve my posture which may in turn alleviate the numbness and pain. He recommended Steve Jordan Pilates and I continue to be amazed at the benefits I have experienced. One of their maxims is that they get to fit to play your sport, not the other way round. During the initial session the instructor makes copious notes not just about your body in terms of flexibility (in my case not very complimentary!) and posture but also what your aims are. I had no idea that pilates could be used to improve strength and stamina in addition to aiding flexibility, breathing techniques and posture. All the instructors at Steve Jordan Pilates are aware of each individuals' abilities as the notes are consulted before the class and the instructors ensure that they get to know the clientele. The small class size ensures that you receive individual attention and such is the expertise of the instructors that they are constantly observing you, ensuring the correct position for any given exercise and shouting encouragement. I am a keen cyclist and my aims are to improve my time trial performance and stamina on longer rides. Already I am feeling the benefits on the distance runs and on the sprints my times are reducing – proof indeed of the benefits of pilates as I have not changed any other aspect of my training. I have booked my next ten sessions and cannot imagine a better pilates class in London.
Nick Edwards — touchlocal.com, au.totaltravel.yahoo.com, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Very Good

I first started going to pilates in January 2006 due to my back being injured for around 6-7 years. It took me a while to get used to the basics but when I did my body changed it became stronger and my back has never caused me the problems that I used to have. I still go twice a week without fail and due to the classes being so small the teachers have time to see that you are doing things correctly and that you do not get complacent. Also due to the different classes that are available the teachers will make sure your body gets a balanced work out.
I U — touchlocal.com
BACK TO INDEX  »

Life Changing

Once I hit 50 everything seemed to ache! After various hospital visits and tests, a locum GP recommended pilates for stretching the muscles and ligaments. I have never looked back. I chose Steve Jordan from the Pilates Foundation lists orignally and have been attending for nearly three years. My life has changed for the better. Aches practically non-existent, I feel fit and youthful again. Studio and staff all very friendly, no posers or show offs – no mirrors! – just focused, serious workout with small classes and so good results. I am well looked after, advised, encouraged, praised and made to feel valued, highly recommended if you are determined to change for the better. It's like having your own personal trainer!
Jan G. — tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Pilates classes in South London

Having suffered from back problems for years, I decided to take Pilates classes after it was recommended by my Physiotherapist. Having also broken my ankle over one year ago, (and not being able to work out) I thought it would be perfect to get my posture, stability and health back on track. I looked up Pilates classes in London and was lucky enough to find Steve Jordan Pilates, just ten minutes from home. The 1:1 sessions were very professional and the teachers have an amazing insight to everyone individual needs and are extremely helpful and patient. The classes are small and fun and everyone gets individual attention. My posture has improved and my core muscles are getting stronger. I wish I had found Steve Jordan Pilates sooner and would recommend their classes to anyone.
SUREN GUNPATH — touchlocal.com, au.totaltravel.yahoo.com, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

SJP

My advice to anyone considering taking up pilates would be to join SJP – I have tried other places and they weren't good. The teachers at SJP are friendly, professional and very focussed – classes are small which enables them to check everyone without the lesson losing pace. I started Pilates with Steve Jordan in January 2007 and got a fright when he checked my posture – years of sitting hunched at a desk had taken their toll – Quasimodo had better posture. After a few lessons the stiffness in my back and hips disappeared and these days my body is much stronger and leaner even though I can usually only go once a week due to work commitments. Try SJP out – you'll love it!
Grainne Barron — touchlocal.com, au.totaltravel.yahoo.com, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Pilates!

I was having back and shoulder problems from sitting at a desk all day, and had been having regular physio, but I needed a longer term solution. I started going to Steve Jordan Pilates in south London in November 2010, as a complete pilates beginner. The classes are very small, with a maximum of six people, so you get highly personalised attention to your "technique". All the teachers are great: highly enthusiastic, fun, friendly, patient, expert, and happy to understand whatever niggles you are carrying. It's a really laid-back but hard working set-up, and I'm just amazed at how quickly I am starting to feel the benefits. Highly recommended.
A B — touchlocal.com, au.totaltravel.yahoo.com, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

SJP identify the things which need addressing

I have been going to Steve Jordan Pilates in Bermondsey in South London since September 2010 and think it to be one of the most effective things I could have done to fight back against years of poor posture and lack of exercise. Two or three sessions at the gym each week didn't seem to be cutting it and I was frustrated at my lack of progress. I had even attended a pilates class at the gym, but was put off by the large class size, an inability to grasp what the instructor wanted, and the nagging impression that the instructor was more concerned with showing off her ability than with pushing the class. So I was nervous about my first session with SJP. But they know what they are doing: they start you off with one-to-ones so you can join straight into your first class without worrying you are holding the others back. And more importantly they identify the things which need addressing (in my case achingly tight hamstrings and a resultant poor posture). It's not easy but it is rewarding. Tracey, Sabrina and the others make sure you don't get away with slacking and there are moments of exquisite torture. But for the feeling of achievement after an hour it is totally worth it. I still have a long way to go, but I am making progress! And I couldn't have said that before. My regular gym instructor saw me 10 weeks after I had started with SJP and was amazed. I am now able to fight back against all those years of not exercising and most importantly I feel so much better. This sounds like the cheesiest commercial ever but I mean every word. Thanks Tracey and Sabrina – you are brilliant!
DavidLyon — qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Best Pilates

Steve Jordan Pilates classes are exceptionally good, the best I have found in London. I have done pilates elsewhere but these classes are way better. The initial assessment was thorough, instructors are clearly highly trained and pay attention to your history, posture, injuries and what you are aiming for. Instructors take you on from wherever you are – super fit, post natal or 'out of condition'. Classes are small so there is an emphasis on doing exercises correctly to maximise benefit from the session and assure progress. I feel so much better and have undertaken more sport as a result. Instructors are professional, approachable and give individual attention. Equipment is clean, plentiful and innovative. The studio is spacious and light. I would recommend Steve Jordan Pilates to anyone and do. I like the fact that you pay as you go, not a monthly fee, so there is no stress if you are away.
ruthttashby — qype.co.uk, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Pilates fans: try this class!

I wish I'd discovered Steve Jordan Pilates sooner! Having been troubled by a prolapsed disc last year, I was encouraged to try out a pilates class in the hope that it would strengthen the core muscles around my lower spine. Whilst I have done lots of sport and exercise throughout my entire life I soon discovered that my core muscles were much neglected. The classes are varied and reasonably fast-paced, combining strengthening with flexibility work. With never more than 6 people per class and first-rate teachers who give each individual lots of attention and guidance, I had extremely pleasing results within a matter of weeks. My body is far more toned, my back problems have reduced and for the first time in my life I can touch my toes! The classes also provide me with an excellent mental break from the chaos of living and working in London. I would highly recommend Steve Jordan Pilates, whether it's to prepare your body for a sporting event, help recover from an injury or just for general strengthening and conditioning purposes.
RHolds — qype.co.uk, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

First Class Palates – trust me!

First Class Pilates – trust me! I was preparing to run the London marathon for the first time and was recommended by an expert to use palates as a supplementary form of exercise. I had never been to a palates class before attending Steve Jordan's Palates, but I'm now a complete convert. My experience at Steve Jordan's Palates has been first class. Specific things that a I really like about the set up include: excellent instructors, they are all real experts in their field and really motive you; small class sizes (max of 6) so you get a high quality workout; clear structure of progression through classes; flexibility and ease of booking / attending classes; and noticeable results within a month. I would highly recommend going to Steve Jordan's Palates. You will not be disappointed. The results for me were superb. I managed a sub 3-30 marathon at my first attempt which would not have been possible without the core, hips and legs work built up through Steve Jordan's Palates classes.
goffyp — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Absolutely superb pilates in SE1

Ongoing health problems resulted in a frustrating relationship with exercise and attempts to regain fitness frequently had to be abandoned. I discovered Steve Jordan Pilates near London Bridge a few months ago and feel transformed. I have reconnected with my body and the classes have enabled me to begin building strength and fitness again without damaging my health. By far the best pilates class I have ever been to, the instructors are demanding, uncompromising on technique but also extremely attentive and supportive. They really mean what they say on their website – everyone has taken care to get to know me personally and I look forward to going to classes with such enthusiastic instructors who really do go the extra mile (one even rearranged plans with friends to teach me when I turned up on the off chance that a class would run). I could not recommend this London studio more highly, I only wish I had started sooner!
Laura50 — qype.co.uk, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

great personalised instruction

After struggling to recover from a foot injury some friends recommended I try pilates. I tried a few places but nothing really stuck until I found Steve Jordan Pilates in Bermondsey near London Bridge, SE1. The studio is a bright, airy place and classes are never more than 6 people so you get really personalised attention from the instructors. I'm not a great one for exercise but after a one on one session I progressed to group mat classes, then on to machine classes and I have genuinely noticed a change in my physique and posture. I am more defined around my waist which is a problem area for me and also my arms which were lacking any definition whatsoever. Thanks to sorting out my core strength my posture has also improved significantly. What I like most of all about classes here however is how friendly and supportive the instructors are. They always remember your name, what stage you are at and approach class with a light heartedness that makes the hour's hard work pass a lot faster. I am very grateful.
fmilne — qype.co.uk, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Best pilates classes in london

SJP Pilates studio in London Bridge offers an amazing technique for toning and strengthening your whole body. I am the mother of two small children and have found Pilates to be the perfect solution for my bad posture (result of carrying children and pushing buggies) whilst providing general strengthening and toning. The classes are small so the instructors can spend time with each person ensuring that the techniques are performed correctly – and are therefore more effective. The staff are friendly and attentive. I have limited time each week to spend on exercise and the classes are very focused and intense so I know I have used my hour as effectively as possible. I live locally in SE1 and with the many options for available classes which can simply be booked online – the SJP Pilates studio is a very easy exercise solution to suit a busy schedule.
jjohnson — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk, touchlocal.com, au.totaltravel.yahoo.com, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Best pilates classes in london

My experience at Steve Jordan Pilates Studio in SE1 London was great! From initial intake as a beginner you can tell the those involved are concerned about health and getting great results ... not just a quick buck! I have taken different exercise classes before and really feel like this company values small class sizes and making sure their clients get attention from the instructors. My instructor was motivating and gave very clear instructions making it easy to follow along. I will definitely be back! Meagan
megan c. — wahanda.com, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Runners pilates classes SE1

I have been regularly attending Pilates classes at the London Bridge / Bermondsey SE1 Steve Jordan branch for some six months, and have certainly felt the benefits of this variation on the Pilates method. The exercises have helped significantly with my running-induced stiffness, added to which my overall body tone has improved noticeably. The lessons are fun, and the teachers encouraging. Highly recommended.
AMaton — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

I received the individual attention that I required

When a physiotherapist at St Thomas' Hospital told me I had to strengthen my core and the best way to do that was to do Pilates I had to find a suitable Pilates class in central London as near to me as possible. I was afraid to go to the Pilates class at the gym because I was recovering from a bad case of sciatica and I feared that I might not be able to keep up. I was delighted when I discovered Steve Jordan Pilates within walking distance from my home and in the last year I have improved a lot there. The trainers were excellent and I received the individual attention that I required. I was never fearful that they would push me beyond my limits, and very gently they encouraged me to build strength using their genuine understanding of Pilates and of the human body. My experience with Steve Jordan Pilates has been just what I needed and I wish I had found it much earlier.
 
Jane O'Brien (MA Psych) BACP Senior Accredited
UKCP Registered Psychosynthesis Psychotherapist

janeobrien — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Spectacular!

I really had a great passtime during the session. Would certainly consider joining the group again.
Jeremy M. — tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Inspiring, to say the least

I have recently started pilates at this studio to assist an injury [broken shoulder]. The progress I have made with movement on not just my shoulder, but my entire body is surprising and inspiring to say the least. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to keep the body and mind active.
JPDefaut — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Get rid of muscoskeletal pain

Steve Jordan Pilates is by far and away the best Pilates class in town for all sorts of reasons! The teachers are excellent, striking the right balance between rehabilitation and real progress on fitness levels. Class sizes are small and everyone gets individual attention and correction throughout on mat and machine from beginner to reformer – an absolute must when dealing with injuries which also helps confidence levels for those returning to exercise after prolonged absences. Add to that its convenient location just minutes from London Bridge and Borough tube stations and its pleasant studio and it's a fun and healthy hour waiting to happen!
TishAnn — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Great results fast

A couple of years ago my husband suffered a shoulder injury playing football (Aussie Rules) and after doing a lot of research I signed him up with SJP. He managed to fix his shoulder in 2 months of regular attendance and raved about the classes, so when a running injury in my lower back crept up, I signed up in hopes of getting rid of the problem once and for all. I had done Pilates before, but never at such a detailed level and wow does it make a difference. The instructors are brilliant, and due to the size of the studio, you get a lot of personal attention and progress quickly. I am currently doing the mat classes and I love them, they are well-paced and fun and I am really seeing results, my back pain feels like a bad memory. I work in Southwark so the London Bridge location is very convenient. Yes, it might seem pricey compared to other studios or classes, but you really get the expertise and results here, I will be staying with them for a long time.
tuularea — qype.co.uk, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Fantastic Pilates Classes

Do you want great Pilates classes in London? Then you must try Steve Jordan Pilates in London Bridge. The studio is 2 minutes away from London Bridge Tube Station SE1, the teachers are very attentive especially if you have an injury, in fact the programme is designed to bear that in mind. I like the fact that it's for max 6 people so you do get the teacher's attention all the time. The excercises are meant to strengthen your core for sport but also for every day postural awareness. Steve Jordan Pilates offers mat as well as reformer classes, for beginners to advanced to pregnancy class. It's worth every penny. Come and see for yourself ...
Maria S. — qype.co.uk, tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Fantastic

Amazing work out, great for toning and excellent staff. Would highly recommend.
Bridget H. — tipped.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »

Classes are fun but challenging – I'm addicted!

A year ago I was a complete beginner to pilates, but thought I would try it for a little while until I got over a runing injury. Now I'm addicted! The classes are fun but challenging and I have seen improvements in my posture and fitness. The attention to detail and motivation by the instructors is excellent and I progrssed from beginner to intermediate level. I have tried a couple of other Pilates classes but this is by far and away the best, and the location 2 minutes from London Bridge Station is handy too.
Liam22 — wahanda.com, qype.co.uk
BACK TO INDEX  »
  © 2019 STEVE JORDAN PILATES | TIGME.COM Get Steve Jordan Pilates on DVD